David Gomez Foundation

Posted: September 7, 2012 in Our Community
Tags: , , , , ,

I have a WC claim. I had three knee surgeries – one of them being a total knee replacement. I had walked out on my job as a claims adjuster as I had another small stroke at that job and it was literally killing me. I am also an  investor in the stock market. Actually, I take that back. I am a day trader. I was going to take my WC settlement and day trade full time and with that money invest in the FTM/MTF community. I want to help with hormones, surgery and any other needs our community has. With that said my doctor wrote a report regarding my injury. My WC case worker sent me for an IME. (Independent Medical Exam) as they felt the injury report was too high for settlement.

I am in shock. Complete shock.
As a claims adjuster for 30 years I saw so many settlements that were incredibly unrealistic. I sent many people to IMEs.  When I saw low IMEs for the injury as a fair adjuster I would compromise without argument as I always knew our doctors would low ball the injury while others would push for whatever the IME doctor said. At the end of the day I would have to look at myself in the mirror.
Yesterday afternoon I received in the mail the copy of the IME I had to go to. I didn’t want to open it as things just haven’t been going my way lately. WC and disability were denied me as they both argued that the other side owed me the money. People told me to get a lawyer and fight it. I didn’t have it in me to fight. I know I would have been able to get one of them to pay me. But, I just am tired of litigation so walked away. So, I opened the IME letter expecting that I was low balled and would have to work extra hard once this settled to make it working for myself. I have been very stressed about this but haven’t said anything on FB. I have been researching like mad so that I have a great game plan and don’t fail.

I opened the report and read it. I nearly fell to the floor! The IME doctor gave me MORE than a fair Scheduled Loss of Use percentage. I read it again. Then I read it again. I was and am still in shock. I was not low balled at all. I think part of it was professional courtesy because I was an adjuster for 30 years. But, the other part of it was that I didn’t have an attorney. I didn’t walk in there telling them that I was dying. I told them that I was exercising. I told them that I didn’t need to keep taking pain medication. I told them that I refused to be a cripple and feel sorry for myself. As an adjuster for 30 years I would always hear stories about how the claimants are crippled for the rest of their life and how horrible their life is. I have the same injury as some of them have so know they are liars. I still have pain with my knees but I exercise and have lost weight and am determined to live my life and not sit around feeling sorry for myself. I think the IME doctor respected that and thought it was refreshing and instead of low balling me because I wasn’t claiming I am totally disabled he rewarded me for my honesty.
I am beyond thrilled because when I make my investments my plans were to put 1/3 to my charity. I thought I would have to work a full year maybe two before I had funding to be able to do that. When I make my trades the disbursements will be 1/3 for taxes, 1/3 for me and 1/3 for charity. I am not investing to become rich. I don’t have a lot of financial needs. I live simple. With this positive IME report as long as I can keep my losses to a minimum will be able to get my foundation up and running in the first year.
I am excited beyond belief. Now I can formally register my foundation. After watching the DNC last night it only strengthened my resolve to be a part of something greater than myself. I have a charity foundation called, The David Gomez Foundation. This is geared more towards the MFT and FTM community. So many of us need our hormones, surgery and other care yet it’s not out there for us. While I am not a millionaire; if I can help in some small way I will do my best to help all I can. Now I have to learn how to set this up properly. I have the website DavidGomezFoundation.com and also a FB page but with everything that has been going on I haven’t really done anything with them other than set up the sites. After things settle down a little bit I will write my mission statement to make sure I keep focused. This fund will be totally funded by me and my investments. I am not looking for outside donations.
I have been so horribly depressed for the past 6 weeks. Now I really feel as if I have something to live for. Nothing else really matters to me right now than putting together this foundation. I can do this and I can thank a conservative IME doctor from an insurance company. Who knew?

Leave a Reply

