Kerplumb

Posted: August 28, 2012 in Emotions
Tags: , , , , ,

During the long hard weeks I fell into a small depression. I didn’t work out. My eating was for the most part healthy but I did eat a little bit too much ice cream and I did have a few candy bars. Fortunately, I didn’t gain any weight. I was reading just now and was stroking my arms. I have developed nice arm and shoulder muscles. Fortunately, I haven’t lost them from my lack of exercise in the past two weeks. I also started smoking again. I haven’t smoked in years.

Why did I do that?

Why, when I am in pain do I do things that will hurt me even more?

I purchased some Nicorette gum as smoking is a filthy habit.

I bought more yogurt and fruit.

I will do my exercises today.

Though I slid into bad behaviors I am glad that I had the ability to see what I was doing to myself.

When I am met with hardship I need to stay strong and not fall into a pit of despair and destruction.

I won’t knock myself for it as I used to when I was younger. When I was younger I would have continued such behavior.

I can’t do that any longer. I have myself I need to take care of.

I’m no longer a child and must get off the pitty pot of self-destruction.

It serves no purpose.

 

Comments
  1. perpetua says:

    I still have that filthy habit; working on my quit date. I’m thinking about my son’s birthday.
    The pity pot is an old enemy of mine I keep at bay as I have for 26+ years: a lot of attitude adjustments! Bravo for not falling back into it, and continuing to take good care of yourself.

  2. mymindofaman says:

    Dude, you sound like me. I can get in a slump here and there. That’s a great thing about these blogs. You find people with similar situations and can help motivate and hold each other accountable. Glad you caught yourself in time. Now go do your exercises man

Leave a Reply

