How Much is that Roaming in the Window?

Posted: August 2, 2012 in Family
Tags: , , , , ,

I had a wonderful day of doing absolutely nothing yesterday. Then at around 8:42 p.m. my mother called me. She said that they took my father away via ambulance to the hospital in Las Vegas. They live in Pahrump, Nevada which is about 70 miles SW of Vegas. As she was telling me what happened her cell phone went dead. I called her back and asked her what happened. She told me that she saw the phone went to roaming charges and she didn’t want me to have that on my phone bill. (I pay for my parents cell phone)

‘Ma, you are telling me they took dad off in an ambulance and you are worrying about roaming charges?’’

‘I don’t want it to be on your bill because you are on disability and isn’t it expensive?’

‘Ma, what happened with dad?’

A normal person would think that she was upset and not thinking clearly – but, no – this is my mother. She is a true child of the depression. I once borrowed $10 from her in advance of my salary as a grocery bagger when I was 15 and she charged me interest. That’s my mother.

We are awaiting word at this time to find out if my dad is going to be okay.

 

 

Comments
  1. perpetua says:

    My thoughts are with you.

  2. Kira says:

    I hope everything turns out well, I will be keeping you and your family in my thoughts.

Leave a Reply

