Shockees and Shockers

Posted: July 10, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

I had to run errands so went to CVS. I was at the counter looking at items behind the counter. I have shopped there for over 15 years and everyone there knows me. One of the clerks came up to me and said, ‘may I help you, sir’. She then looked at my face and recognized me (with facial hair) and said, ‘oh, sorry, maam’

I didn’t hesitate and said, ‘no, you have it correct. I am transitioning. Sir is correct.”

She looked at me.

I stayed silent.

She opened her mouth slowly. “Are you okay?’

“Yup. I’m fine.” I smiled. “Say, those prices are the sale prices?” I pointed to the item I was looking at.

“Um…yes, yes those are correct.” She stuttered.

“Thanks.” I thanked her and turned to go.

I walked out of the store and just broke out in laughter.

My life may be difficult at times but I am so forever grateful that I am not the one who has their world turned upside down when I see something outside of my realm. It’s so much better being shocker than the shockee.

I just kept chuckling on my way home. “What? I’m supposed to move and shop somewhere else? I don’t think so. I have a rent stabilized apartment. I am going to die there.”

I’ve been shocking people my entire life.

It may as well be me.

I’m strong enough to handle it.

I have a feeling more people in my neighborhood are going to be shockees soon.

Comments
  1. perpetua says:

    Shockees learn a lot, and this is a great thing.

  2. I have several similar tales of my days of early transitioning; doing business as Krystle with local folks I’d been doing business with for decades as a man. This in a town of about 6,000 people at the time. Particularly humorous was when I left the local mechanic standing the the doorway of the garage with his mouth literally hanging open and him totally speechless.

    • David Gomez says:

      Thanks for posting that bewaretheswampsnark. I wondered why I laughed afterwards. Was it relief for not being made fun of or mocked? I wasn’t sure what it was – but, I just had to laugh. I think it’s better that I laugh as I could have balled up inside and got frightened but I sometimes just have to throw my hands in the air and accept that this is a part of the journey and I have to hold on for the ride – I can imagine your mechanic’s face. LOL – I will likely have those moments too. I’m still laughing as I type this. As they say – laughter is the best medicine.

Leave a Reply

